The Perfect Pair: Laveggio Roastera & Chroma Café

Laveggio Roastera is a gem in Binghamton and is a routine pit stop for me when I’m home visiting. I always look forward to being schooled on the coffee offerings for the week by Mary Ann, one of the coffee connoisseurs and proprietors, and take pleasure in the tranquil atmosphere of the café (fashioned by the exposed brick, natural light, and the plant immersed space). Besides the ambiance, Laveggio buys and roasts (by hand on a drum roaster) the finest beans that are obtained by direct trade to ensure the best quality and taste.

Laveggio’s is an artisanal coffee roaster and specialty coffee shop that is truly invested in producing the freshest and smoothest coffees and espressos, and are genuinely passionate about coffee—“Laveggio is based on roasting great coffees by hand, and celebrating the craft of coffee.” Additionally, according to Laveggio’s website, “quality standards are among the toughest and highest in the business, they roast, brew and sell all of their coffees within a 7 day window, and after 7 days the coffee is no longer at its peak.”

I love everything about Laveggio Roastera, but I especially am fond of the willingness of the baristas to educate and assist patrons in choosing the right coffee for them and their tastes; however, if you’re not a coffee drinker, but are looking for a cute cafe, Laveggio also serves organic teas.

Over President’s Day weekend I visited Binghamton, and before I made my way back home to Pennsylvania, I wanted a nice hot cup of delicious brew to kick start my day…so of course I headed to Laveggio (the only true café worthy of note in the 607), and due to President’s Day they were closed. I was devastated…but I also took this as an opportunity to check out their neighbor, Chroma Café & Bakery, which has been a place I’ve wanted to try.

So…I did it. I entered Chroma Café & Bakery and fell in the love with the space—the vibrant colors, the original floor tiling that was salvaged, the openness of the seating area, the wall of homemade pastries and baked goods, and of course the mod tea and coffee holders that are home to the doodads one needs when ordering breakfast and lunch. I was blown away with the colors and décor and wanted to try everything they had to offer. I ended up ordering a breakfast burrito (scrambled eggs, cheese, bacon, and BACON MARMALADE) and a small coffee (Wegmans brand). Though initially disappointed they didn’t serve better coffee, I realized that on any other day, Laveggio’s would be open (next door) for patrons who were seeking a “good cup of coffee.” Assumingly, sensing my disappointment of coffee offerings (and my disapproval of not having a milk alternative), the employee/ cashier mentioned that Laveggio and Chroma have a symbiotic relationship where one can bring Laveggio coffee into Chroma, and one can bring food from Chroma into Laveggio.

The relationship between the coffee shop and the café/ bakery is something that will boost the success of both shops. I believe that supporting local establishments is SO important to any community, but I particularly love to see the growth and community support in Binghamton because “home is where the heart is” right?

I want Binghamton to grow and flourish, and I want local unique businesses to prosper—and I want to see natives supporting other natives in this conquest of growth! I strongly encourage you to take a trip to both shops…perhaps grab a pastry from Chroma and then head over to Laveggio Roastera for a positive atmosphere and a high-quality, tasty cup of coffee or tea.

image1
Laveggio Roastera in Binghamton, NY

 

chroma1
Chroma Café & Bakery in Binghamton, NY

 

Leave a comment